skip navigation

Whalers Loubert Commits to Adrian College

By Whaler Nation, 04/20/20, 10:00AM EDT


#6 Dominic Loubert

“Dom was a significant addition to Whaler Nation this season”, stated Patrick Cavanagh. “His tremendous skill set, game vision, compete level and teammanship immediately set the Whalers on course for realizing our three-peat National Championship expectation. The bittersweet part is that I wish we had him for longer but he will represent the Whalers at the prestigious Adrian College Hockey program. Coach Krug has high expectations for National Championships; Dom will excel on contributing to that objective”.

The Hampton Roads Jr. Whalers are proud to announce that 1999 defenseman Dominic Loubert from Quebec QC, CAN has committed to playing college hockey in 2020 for the Adrian College Bulldogs.

Loubert, a late season addition to the Whalers after coming over from Oklahoma City in the WSHL, skated in just 13 games in the blue and green, posting 9 points on 3 goals and 6 assists, along with 8 penalty minutes.

“The winning culture in Hampton Roads is second to none”, stated Loubert.  “Any player that goes through there comes out with the mindset of working hard every day to eventually win a championship. Everyone hold himself accountable for coming ready to work everyday and that’s what I loved about the Whalers. I want to thank the Whalers organization, Mr. Cavanagh, Coach Gatto, and Coach Rodriguez for the opportunity they gave me to grow as a player and a person. I am excited for the next chapter at Adrian”.

“Dom was a major pickup that really pushed us to become a better team”, stated coach Gatto. “Great work ethic matched with top end skill is what Adrian is getting. He is a superb puck mover and quarterback on the power play but was also a key contributor on our Penalty Kill as well”.

Adrian College is located in Adrain, MI and competes in the NCAA’s division 3 Northern Collegiate Hockey Association (NCHA).

Loubert is the 10th Whaler committed from the 2019-20 season joining, Daniel McGeever (New England College), Jacob Kaplan (Morrisville), Chris Mott (Morrisville), Joe DiGiulio (Neumann), Thomas McGuire (Neumann), Brady Mistler (Neumann), Bobby Brouwer (UNC Wilmington), Connall Muldoon (Western Washington), and Cameron Knowlton (Lawrence Tech).